Looking ahead to June: Patch Towns Days weekend

I can’t believe it’s June 01 already! The last few months have flown.  With temperatures here in Maryland approaching 90 most days I am really looking forward to getting up in the cooler mountain air in Pennsylvania for a little bit this month.

I’ll be heading up for Patch Towns Days (Saturday and Sunday, June 19-20, at Eckley Miners’ Village).  Because of trying to visit family in Wilkes-Barre, and see a few things (e.g. the Huber Breaker, where some of my family worked), I’ll likely only make the festival on Sunday.

Anyone else planning on being there Sunday?  Anyone have memories of previous Patch Towns Days, or ideas of things to make sure I (and others) do that weekend?  Leave a note in the comments, below!  I have no idea what to expect – Crafts?  Music?  Demonstrations?  Reenactments?  Food!?!  Looking forward to finding out… .

– Kristin

Inside the Eckley Miners' Village Museum (photo by Kristin Sullivan)

About LM Project
The LMP is a collaborative endeavor which aims to recognize the events surrounding the Lattimer Massacre, an incident that changed the labor movement and impacted the world by bringing to light economic disparities and ethnic tensions in the anthracite region of PA.

One Response to Looking ahead to June: Patch Towns Days weekend

  1. LM Project says:

    Hi Bob! I’m sorry I didn’t run into you too – I was there on Sunday!! Unfortunately I tried to pack too much in – visiting family in Wilkes-Barre Sat., friends/people I talk about Lattimer stuff with on Saturday and Sunday, Patch Towns on Sunday, and then drive back home to MD. I had a great time, but would have loved to see a few more people, yourself included.

    That was my first time at Patch Towns Days (second at Eckley) and it was great – fun skits, good food (bejgli!), bought some pisanky (pisankies?), etc. I brought my camera but kept talking to people and didn’t take too many pictures – will post what few I have here/flickr tomorrow or Thurs.

    I went to the Huber Breaker in Ashley, PA on Saturday – what a cool place!! Have you ever been? A bunch of my family worked there beginning of last century. I just wish someone would dump a million or so into renovations, although the emptiness of the place was haunting – as good as some museum interpretation I’ve seen just because it was so huge, empty and, well, kinda scary. Anyway, I recommend a visit if you’ve not been – I think it’s the last anthracite breaker in NEPA (aside from the Molly Maguires set at Eckley – which also could use some help *ahem, PA gov’t!*).

    We’ll have to have lunch or something next time I’m up! Glad you had fun at Patch Towns 🙂
    – Kristin

Leave a Reply

